Agent of the Year: How to win

Agent of the Year: How to win

Harry Tunnecliffe


26 SEPTEMBER, 2018

Agent of the Year Awards 2019 – Request reviews and put yourself in the hot seat to win!

For the third year running, RateMyAgent is proud to present the Agent of the Year Awards, to recognise and reward real estate professionals who provide truly excellent client service. 

This time, the Awards will be bigger and better. Australian property management teams and our Kiwi sales cousins are invited to join the competition!


Here's your definitive guide to winning an Agent of the Year Award.



Real estate salespeople and agencies: how to enter, and how to win

Once again this year, Agent of the Year Awards are awarded to Australian real estate agents at four levels: Suburb, City, State/Territory and National.

The same applies for Australian real estate agencies.


Last year, the Rising Star Award (Male and Female) and Agency Network Award were added to the Australian awards stable. Those awards return again this year. You'll be able to submit nominations for Rising Star Awards in the coming weeks.

"To put yourself and your agency in contention for these awards, you’ll need to collect reviews by 11:59pm (AEDT) on 6 January 2019."


To qualify for any of these awards you must have 5 confirmed sales in the 2018 calendar year and have received at least 5 seller reviews in the specific location. For example if an agent has sold 5 properties in a suburb but only has 4 seller reviews they'll not qualify.

To put yourself and your agency in contention for these awards, you’ll need to collect reviews by 6 January 2019. You should aim for a high RMA score: that is, the number of positive vendor reviews as a percentage of overall sales numbers.

"Remember – winning is NOT a question of sales volumes."

Remember – winning is NOT a question of sales volumes. If you sell 10 properties and receive 8 positive vendor reviews, your RMA score will be 80% … but if you sell 20 properties and receive 12 positive vendor reviews, your RMA score will be just 60%.



Get reviews



There's some extra criteria for Rising Star and Agency Network awards.


Rising Star Award: To qualify as a Rising Star your real estate career must have commenced after 1 January 2016. This means you must have listed and sold your first property within the last 3 years and have at least 5 sales and 5 seller reviews posted for the 2018 calendar year. There's one male and one female National award.


Agency Network Award: We have 3 Agency Network Awards based on agencies with less than 20 offices, between 21 and 100 offices and above 100 offices. There's one National award for each category.



What about property management agencies? Can we enter? 

Yes! This year the Agent of the Year Awards are expanding to include property management departments – the unsung heroes and financial anchors of all successful real estate agencies. Any property management team whose agency has an Enterprise subscription with RateMyAgent is eligible to enter.


In 2019, the Property Management Agency of the Year Awards will recognise the top 10 property management teams in each State and Territory, and the top 100 nationally. The overall winner in each State and Territory – and ultimately, the National winner – will be announced at the Agent of the Year Awards on 21 February 2019.


RateMyAgent recognises that property management is an ongoing service based on building long-term relationships with landlords. By contrast, client relationships in real estate sales are largely transactional.


This means the Property Management Agency of the Year Award will be calculated differently from the sales Awards. The property management teams that receive the highest number of landlord reviews will win the Awards.




Request reviews



Request reviews from the following 3 categories of clients to make your property management team most competitive for the Award:


  1. Every landlord currently on your books (including those you signed before 2018)
  2. Every landlord you’ve signed so far in 2018
  3. Every landlord you sign up to the Award cut-off date of 6 January 2019.




Welcoming our Kiwi cousins in 2019

With RateMyAgent’s recent expansion to New Zealand, it’s the perfect time to expand the Agent of the Year Awards to recognise and reward the very best Kiwi real estate agents and agencies.


Like the Australian awards, the NZ awards are NOT based on the number of sales you make. They’re based on your RMA score: the number of positive vendor reviews as a percentage of your overall sales.


Example: 20 properties and 17 vendor reviews = RMA score 85%.

40 properties and 20 vendor reviews = RMA score 50%.


RateMyAgent will calculate and notify New Zealand’s top 10 agents and top 10 agencies.The agent and agency with the highest scores will be presented with the New Zealand Agent and Agency of the Year awards at a RMAOpen 2019 Conference & Awards in Melbourne on 21 February 2019. 


To put yourself in contention for a berth in the top 10 agents or agencies, remember to request a vendor review for every property you sell.

Request reviews


In a nutshell …

What are the benefits?

Each review comes from a legitimate vendor or landlord and is linked to a specific transaction or property – so your Agent of the Year, Agency of the Year or Property Management Agency of the Year Award is a credible, objective indicator of your client service professionalism.


Your award and logo are yours to promote for an entire year. Use them throughout your traditional and digital marketing material for maximum effect!


What’s the deadline?


All reviews for sales (Australia and New Zealand) and property management (Australia) must be collected by 11:59pm (AEDT) January 2019. Late reviews will not be considered. So no matter which category you’re entering, it’s time to get cracking!







RMAOpen 2019 tickets are now on sale


Don't miss out: Australian cricketing legend Shane Warne and comedian Lawrence Mooney headline Australia’s leading real estate innovators and disruptors as they bring you RMAOpen 2019.


Secure your ticket now

Thursday 21 February 2019


More special guests to be announced soon!


Find out more







Read more:

Announcing RMAOpen 2019 Conference and Awards

RMAOpen 2019 special guests: Shane Warne

RMAOpen 2019 special guests: Lawrence Mooney

5 reasons your vendor hasn't reviewed you yet (and how to fix them)

5 tips to get all your missing reviews


Having problems?

Contact us at


RateMyAgent App

Get reviews on the go

Download the RateMyAgent App